FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:48 am

PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

<<

Thud

Newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:51 pm

Post Mon May 21, 2012 4:59 pm

PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Hello,

I just dug my PM-300 out of storage and I am wondering if it can be bridged at 4 ohms. The manual only gives the power rating for bridging at 8 ohms, but it also says that each channel can be run at 2 ohms, which leads me to think that it might be able to handle being bridged at 4ohms. Does anyone here know for sure?

I am wanting to use it with a bass guitar preamp and at the moment, I only have a 4 ohm cabinet.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks!
<<

TNRabbit

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 13303

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am

Location: TN Native Languishing in VA

Post Mon May 21, 2012 7:45 pm

Re: PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Give it a try ....if it's too much, it will just shut down~
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.
<<

Thud

Newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:51 pm

Post Mon May 21, 2012 7:51 pm

Re: PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Well I guess that's one way to find out!

You don't think it would do permanent damage if it shut itself down under these conditions?
<<

TNRabbit

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 13303

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am

Location: TN Native Languishing in VA

Post Mon May 21, 2012 8:27 pm

Re: PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Well, it has built-in protection circuits.....what exactly do you plan to do with it? That first scene from "Back To The Future" with Marty McFly turning the amp all the way up comes to mind....

You might try starting slow & gradually increasing volume to see what happens. Listen for signs of distress or distortion.
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.
<<

thuffman03

User avatar

!! CarverFest Evictee !!

Posts: 2703

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:07 am

Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post Tue May 22, 2012 8:35 am

Re: PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

I bet it will work just fine. Those amps are built to take a beeting and keep on playing.
Some cool Carver stuff!

Return to Carver Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.