Page 1 of 1

Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 6:20 pm
by kirstenj
I'm getting parts to finish wiring AL III's to a single Sunfire 300x2. I currently have 2 strand wire running from the equipment case to under the house, but it hasn't been brought up yet in the room with speakers (approximately 55 ft max run.) This was done when we were wiring the room with the home theater. This will be an easy project to complete. However, after reading Sunfire_Amplifier_Whitepaper.pdf and reading some old posts on the subject, I'm considering stereo bi-wiring (using unbalanced input from a Yamaha RX-A1010.) This would involve taking molding off out walls (again), and replacing it with 4 strand. An additional benefit of the 4 strand, is if I wanted to bi-amp in the future, I could do that easily as well. So, questions are:

1) Is the sound improvement with this setup worth the extra work (and extra nail holes in our molding <g>)? I'm thinking it is...
2) Do I need any further equipment? e.g. crossover equipment? I don't think so, but wanted to double check.

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 6:48 pm
by kingman
NO

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:29 pm
by TNRabbit
Worth it for biwiring? Not really, but it depends on what gauge is there now.

For biamping? Definitely. Ultimately, you'll want a crossover for biamping, but that sounds like it's down the road.

What gauge wire is there now?

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:18 pm
by kirstenj
12, which I believe is good for the distance I'm going.

Bob Carver and some other posts elsewhere I came across indicated that it was a more efficient use of the amp to separate out to the voltage and current posts, but it sounds like (no pun intended), that real life hasn't proven that out.

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:04 pm
by TNRabbit
Actually, Bob didn't say it was a more efficient use of the Sunfire amp; he said you could separate the current and voltage and use the current on the ribbons and the voltage on the woofers to give you more tube like sound. Personally, I prefer the voltage output on the ribbons. It's a personal choice. Try it before you run that much wire again.

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 11:50 pm
by kirstenj
Thanks for the clarification. It must have been somewhere else I was reading that spoke of efficiency. The wiring is just stubs to the underside of the house, so I still need to buy 100' of wire even if using 2 stand. Regardless, I'm going to go ahead and complete the wiring and jacks for 2 strand, and I guess it's not that big of a deal to swap it out later if I want. Right now time wise, I need simple, unless it was a big sound difference. My music tastes run from classical, jazz, funky bluegrass to many sub-genres of electronica, so the tube sound may not have been as flexible a choice for my listening anyway. Knowing me, I'll probably experiment later though as you say.

Cheers!

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 4:08 pm
by kirstenj
OK, I've tried out using only current. Pretty, but not much base. Using only voltage, the base seems to override the ribbons, muddying the sound. So... I do now want to try bi-wiring current to ribbon, and voltage to woofer. I have enough wire to wire one speaker this way, and leave the other using the bus bars. (I want to avoid buying more wire unless I decide to go this route.) I'd stand in front of the bi-wired speaker to get a sense of how it sounds. Will it harm anything (amp, speakers) to do this for a test? The alternative of removing the load to a disconnected speaker (i.e. turning down the level on the 2nd channel and not wiring the 2nd speaker) won't work because I don't see a way to control this in zone 2 of my pre-amp; only for the main zone, which is my home theater setup. I hope this is clear.

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 4:29 pm
by angelod307
My dear lady, i truly welcome you to the real hobby of audio. Seems you are on the right track. This is the glory of home audio and all the testing we do to find what suites us personally. Unless you have al3 pluses, remember you can also tweak the rest on the speakers too.

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 4:36 pm
by kirstenj
Thanks Angelo :-) Yep, I have AL III Pluses.

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 8:20 pm
by mbskeam
So it begins.....
OCCD

it sounds like you.....


just need to get a 2nd amp. \:D/ \:D/ \:D/


then a new
pre amp......



the fun has only just started....... :D :D :D :lol: :lol: :lol:

sorry honey, we eat Top romin for the next 2 weeks....

MaMa needs a new amp.....

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 8:45 pm
by kirstenj
:lol: Totally!

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:52 pm
by kirstenj
Not wanting to originally move them got me into linear thinking that more wire was the only solution. Just need to move them closer to the amp. #-o Never used to have mental paths like this, but middle-age is showing I guess.

... and the verdict is ...

Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 2:46 pm
by kirstenj
Bi-wire!!! Both Steve and I felt it was easier on the ear, and I got the fullness of base that was missing with current-only wiring. Ordered 4 strand wire last night (for under house) and will use some of the 2 strand I previously ordered to make patch cables (wall jacks to speakers) following this post http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=94203.

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:10 am
by Chauss
Enjoy! I ran my 300 x 2 bi-wired to my Apogee's for 20 yrs before I moved on to tubes...... 8)

Re: Wiring a Sunfire 300x2

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 3:51 am
by mmogoinglu
I want to say press release is the best medium for promoting a new business or any news or products launched by a company or firm.It is a great medium of getting the traffic on a website.If i forget some points about press release please share your views.







_____________________________________________________
buy gold wow
RS Gold