amp with "mono switch" on the back?

Carver Home Audio (Stereo) Discussions and Questions
Post Reply
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 6:19 pm

amp with "mono switch" on the back?

Post by younix » Fri Jul 16, 2004 10:56 pm


In 1988, I bought an amp, I'm not sure of the model. (1.5t,1.0t)... Unfortunately, I sold that amp a while ago. That amp had a "mono" switch on the back of it. You had to unscrew a little metal plate to switch it on "mono".

Recently, I bought an m1.5t and a m1.0t and they don't have that switch. Does anybody knows why?? What model was the amp I'm referring to? I was sure it was an m1.0t but the one I have don't have that switch... ???

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 1:25 am

Post by carver_junkie » Tue Jul 20, 2004 9:20 pm

Thanks a lot for your reply.

That's what I was thinking but I was not sure.

Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2003 5:21 pm
Location: Washington State

Post by sceri » Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:16 pm

I have two M1.0t's. One of the amps has the switch and one does not. The one that does not is an older model.....

Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 9:05 pm
Location: Seattle area

Post by danw2002 » Thu Nov 11, 2004 4:00 pm

the early amps had the mono switch to invert one side to sum the channels so you could mono them. the later amps inverted one channel in the preamp section, so by just hooking the speaker outputs up, you had mono....
Dan Williams
carver nut,
who lives only
a few miles from
their old office....

Post Reply

Return to “Carver Home (Audio)”